UWI Professor Kathleen Coard receives Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Award for Excellence 2010

Named Laureate for Science and Technology, UWI alumna and Professor at the University’s Mona Campus, Professor Kathleen Coard accepted the Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Award for Excellence (ANSCAFE) and TT$500,000 to support her work at an Awards Ceremony on April 17, 2010.
Professor Coard is the first female graduate of Medical DM (Pathology) at The University of the West Indies to become a Professor of Pathology. A widely respected researcher, author, and teacher in the field of medical pathology Professor Coard’s research has been published in internationally recognised journals and she has over 60 publications to her name.

In a career that has contributed to understanding and treating cardiovascular diseases, prostate cancer and soft tissue tumors, the Grenadian-born pathologist has received more than six medical awards, including a Jamaica Medical Foundation award in 2009 for outstanding achievement in the fields of pathology and research. She is a founding member of the Caribbean Cardiac Society and the Jamaican Association of Clinical Pathologists, and has held key leadership positions during her career, including Consultant Pathologist to Derriford Hospital, Plymouth, UK, in 1996.

Professor Coard was among three ANSCAFE 2010 Laureates honoured at the gala ceremony. Mr. Adrian Augier, St Lucian poet and dramatist, was named 2010 Laureate for Arts and Letters, while Guyanese-born sustainable tourism pioneer, Mr. Sydney Allicock, received the award for Public and Civic Contributions.

Since the in inaugural ANSCAFE Awards in 2006, the role of The University of The West Indies in the achievement of its esteemed laureates has been evident. The first three ANSCAFE Laureates, Professor Terrence Forrester (Science and Technology), Robert Yao Ramesar (Arts & Letters) and Rev. Father Gregory Ramkissoon (Public and Civic Contributions) all had strong ties with UWI.  Father Gregory was as a young academic lecturing in Geography at UWI Mona Campus, Jamaica, when he set up the ministry which would blossom into the Mustard Seed Community. Professor Forrester (BSc, MSc, PhD, DM) spearheaded the formation of the Tropical Medical Research Institute, which merged the Tropical Metabolism Research Unit, the Sickle Cell Research Unit and the Epidemiology Research Unit at UWI Mona, and the Chronic Disease Research Unit in Barbados. Ramesar (BA, MFA Film Directing), is a Lecturer in Film at UWI St Augustine, Department of Creative and Festival Arts, and continues to pioneer the teaching of cinema at the tertiary level in his native Trinidad and Tobago.

The ANSA McAL Foundation Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence Programme is the first regional, non-governmental recognition programme of its type. It aims to publicly recognise, reward and encourage excellence in human endeavour that benefits and uplifts the Caribbean community. The inaugural programme was launched in Trinidad & Tobago in October 2005, with the long-term vision that candidates from all of the countries of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) would be considered for selection.  The 2010 Selection Panel was chaired by Mr. Michael Mansoor (former Chairman of UWI St. Augustine Campus Council). Other members included Sir Ellis Clarke, Justice Christopher Blackman, Dr Compton Bourne (former Principal of UWI St. Augustine Campus), Christopher Bovell, Judy Y Chang, Rev. Henry Charles, Sister Paul D’Ornella, Sir Shridath Ramphal (UWI Chancellor Emeritus), Major General (Ret’d) Joseph Singh and Sir K Dwight Venner (a UWI alumnus). Laureates were selected based on their excellent work and potential for greater achievement, in keeping with the stated goals of The Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards, which is to honour distinguished Caribbean citizens who exemplify Caribbean life, and to promote and foster the pursuit of excellence by Caribbean persons for the benefit of the Caribbean community.

For more on the Caribbean Awards for Excellence, visit the ANSCAFE website